News >> Season Recap
Thursday, October 07, 2010 8:20:32 PM

Butler Speedway's 2010 Champions: Glenn Heath (Street Stocks), Ken Mackey (Winged Sprints), Marty French (Sportsman), and Tommy Beezley (UMP Modifieds).
Many More Banquet Photos Can Be Found Here
Thanks to all for a great season.
We couldn't have done it without you.
We're already planning for 2011.
Make your plans to be there!!
Butler Speedway 2010 Season Recap Videos!
One-hour video recaps for each division.
SALE -- Combo Pack All 4 Videos Just $40
Over 4 hours of racing!!!!
Individual videos of each division are $20
Top Rookies Honored:


Butler Speedway's 2010 Sprint Car Rookie of the Year: Mike Burns
Butler Speedway's 2010 UMP Modified Rookie of the Year: Mike Langdon.
Butler Speedway's 2010 Sportsman Rookie of the Year: Robert Austin
Butler Speedway's 2010 Street Stock Rookie of the Year: Walter Otis 
Champions, top drivers are honored
  Butler Speedway officially crowned its 2010 champions during festivities at the Eagles Lodge in Coldwater on November 13. Honored were Ken Mackey (Winged Sprints), Tommy Beezley (UMP Modifieds), Marty French (Sportsman), and Glenn Heath (Street Stocks).
  For Mackey, it was the tenth time to take the honor. The Manitou Beach driver, who has already been inducted into the Michigan Motorsports Hall of Fame, claimed his first Butler track title in 1989. Other championships were in 1990, 1992, 1996, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, and now in 2010. All those titles came with a persistent approach to preparation before even reaching the track, and then with a consistent approach once at the speedway.
  During 2010, Mackey won just one feature event, but week after week you could find the red #25m near the front of the pack. Mackey finished second an amazing seven times, for a 117-point advantage over Doug Zimmerman. The winningest driver in the winged sprints during 2010, Zimmerman claimed three feature wins. Dan Hall and Ryan Grubaugh each had two feature wins, with other sprint car wins going to Chad Blonde, Jared Horstman, Brian Lay, Steve Irwin, Mark Aldrich, and Gregg Dalman.
  The UMP Modifieds had four drivers finish within one-hundred points in the final standings in a close battle that saw Tommy Beezley eventually take his second-straight points crown. Beezley won the opener on May 15, then won again on July 3 and in the season championship feature. Beezley finished 67 points ahead of Josh Lolmaugh in the standings. Lolmaugh won twice, as did Tarlton. Other modified feature checkers went to Marc Kurth, Zeke McKenzie, Kevan Free, Ray Jackson, Chance Hoppes, Brian Przepiora, John Swift, and Jake Rendel.
  Marty French took his first points title in the sportsman class, and had a feature win on May 22. French led Wes Bates and Dwayne Feltner by just 39 points in the final standings. Jake Rendel led the class with four feature wins. Taking three wins apiece in the division were 2009 champ Logan Beckwith, Eric Swan, and Tim Wilber. Ironically, the victories by Swan and Wilver came in the same car, with Swan handling the wheel the first half of the season and Wilber taking over from there. Steve Langdon also had a sportsman win.
  Glenn Heath opened the season with a win in the street stock class and had a total of five feature checkers, along with five second-place finishes to capture the points crown. Keith Hiller won four features, with two wins going to Bob Dooley, Jarrett Rendel, Chris Garrett, and Jeff Beaty. Todd Thoms also garnered a win.
Sprint Car top 3: Doug Zimmerman (2nd), Ken Mackey (champ), Shelby Bilton (3rd)
Modified top 3: John Swift (3rd), Tommy Beezley (champ), Josh Lolmaugh (2nd)
Sportsman top 3: Wes Bates (2nd), Marty French (champ), Dwayne Feltner (3rd) 
Street Stock top 3: Keith Hiller (2nd), Glenn Heath (champ), Sheryll Dishaw (3rd)

View All Past News Articles for Butler Speedway

Home Page | Racing Schedule | Directions | Rules | Photo Gallery | Results | Standings | Track History | News Archives | Sponsors | Advertising Information | Registration | Driver Information | Racing Links