News >> Grubaugh, Jackson, Beckwith and Keith Hiller take wins
Sunday, June 27, 2010 6:25:16 AM
 Ryan Grubaugh won the June 26 event at Butler Speedway.
A wild night at the track!
A full moon, eighty degree weather, open wheel race cars and a dirt track. Put them together and you've got mixture that's bound to keep you on the edge of your seat waiting for what's going to happen next.

That was the case at Butler Speedway on Saturday, where the sprint feature had a car flip -- under caution -- and the modified feature was a race decided by mere inches and won by a driver that had never captured a feature in the division. Feature victories went to Ryan Grubaugh (winged sprints), Ray Jackson (UMP Modifieds), Logan Beckwith (sportsman), and Keith Hiller (street stocks).

Ken Mackey and Chris Jones started at the front of the 21-car field in the winged sprint feature. On the initial start, May 29 feature winner Doug Zimmerman flew off turn 2, bringing the race to a stop. Mackey, a nine-time track champion, jumped to the lead on the second try and looked to be on the way to his first feature victory of the 2010 season. But with the full moon looming overhead, he would dive to the infield with some kind of mechanical woes midway through.

Grubaugh started inside the fourth row and had made his way to third when second-running Dan Hall fell out of the race. With Mackey's departure, Grubaugh took over the lead and would hold it the remainder of the race. However, there was plenty of action behind, and even under caution. Jared Horstman and Chad Blonde banged wheels under the yellow flag on the frontstretch, with the end result of Blonde flipping. Blonde was unable to continue, while Horstman was not allowed to rejoin the race. The incident brought out a red flag and concluded with a conversation between the duo.

Grubaugh's win came in a 360 cu. in. powered racer. Gary Fast and Sean Robinson made their way to second and third, while Shelby Bilton was fourth and Mark Broughman took fifth. The rest of the top 10 were Greg Wheeler, Rocky LoPresto, Chris Jones, Chad Hart, and Gerry Hart. Sprint car heat races were won by Horstman, Mackey, and Zimmerman.

Ray Jackson started on the pole for the UMP Modified feature and spent the entire race in the lead -- but had a pack of howling wolves right on his tail -- and at times running right alongside -- until the very end. Jon Hadley, Corey Bevard, and Kevan Free held second during the race, with Free providing Jackson's final challenge. Free ducked under on the final straightaway and fell just inches short of snatching the win from Jackson's grasp. It was the third-straight top 5 finish for Free, who claimed a feature win on May 29.

Behind Jackson and Free at the checker were Greg Socha, Hadley, and Josh Lolmaugh. Sixth through 10th were Matt Eagen, Brian Przepiora, Tommy Beezley, Brian Lolmaugh, and Eric Spencer. Modified heat races were won by Free, Beezley, and Socha.

Two former sportsman champions made up the front row for the feature in that class. Logan Beckwith started inside the front row, while Jake Rendel sat on the outside. Rendel led the first six laps, with Beckwith right on his tail. Both became bottled up by a lapped car, and Marty French ducked under for the lead, while Rendel also slid high off turn 4 and lost several spots. French led several laps, but Beckwith would slip by on the outside when French suffered the same fate as the previous leaders: getting trapped behind a slower car. He would later drop to sixth in the finishing order.

Beckwith remained out front the remainder of the race, which saw several cautions. Dwayne Feltner was second, his best effort of the 2010 season. Rendel made his way back to third at the finish, with Wes Bates fourth and Cameron Hoaglin taking fifth. The rest of the top 10 were Marty French, Steve Langdon, James Hadley, Rick Foreman, and Fred Speck. Sportsman heat races were won by Jake Rendel and Zack Henderson.

Keith Hiller led start-to-finish in the street stock feature, but had Glenn Heath on his bumper throughout. Heath started inside the second row, but quickly made his way to second. On several restarts the former street stock champion ducked low in turn 1 and pulled alongside, only to see Hiller pull back ahead down the backstretch. It was Hiller's third feature win of the season. Heath finished second in each of those races.

Kevin Butters was third, with Sheryll Dishaw fourth and Derek LaPratt fifth. The rest of the top 10 were defending street stock champ Bob Rendel, Jeremy Lutz, Jarrett Rendel, Bruce Stephens, and Bob Dooley. Street Stock heat races were won by Bob Rendel, Hiller, Dishaw, and LaPratt. The 'B' Main went to Rick Kidney.

Butler Speedway Results -- June 26, 2010
Winged Sprints
Feature: 1. 00 Ryan Grubaugh, 2. 26 Gary Fast, 3. 1 Sean Robinson, 4. 27 Shelby Bilton, 5. 52 Mark Broughman, 6. 48 Greg Wheeler, 7. 57x Rocky LoPresto, 8. 23j Chris Jones, 9. 39jr Chad Hart, 10. 39 Chad Hart, 11. 27k Ryan Kirkendall, 12. 29s Marques Huffer, 13. 12b Mike Baker, 14. 44 Tom Davies, 15. 1r Chad Blonde, 16. 17 Jared Horstman, 17. 25m Ken Mackey, 18. 19 Doug Zimmerman, 19. 9q Ken Quimby, 20. Dan Hall, 21. 38 Aaron Smith
Heat Winners: Jared Horstman, Ken Mackey, Doug Zimmerman

UMP Modifieds
Feature: 1. 31j Ray Jackson, 2. 21f Kevan Free, 3. 95 Greg Socha, 4. 23 Ryan Dowell, 5. 25 Josh Lolmaugh, 6. 15e Matt Eagen, 7. 1 Brian Przepiora, 8. 69 Tommy Beezley, 9. 25b Josh Lolmaugh, 10. 10 Eric Spencer, 11. 14s Jessi Sroufe, 12. 8c Corey Bevard, 13. 29 Steve Shellenberger, 14. 2 John Swift, 15. 6 Dave Sibberson, 16. 06 Jake Rendel, 17. 23b Jon Hadley, DNS -- 78 Terry Stratton, 15k George Krawczyski, 25s Charles Smith
Heat Winners: Kevan Free, Tommy Beezley, Greg Socha

Feature: 1. 79 Logan Beckwith, 2. 36 Dwayne Feltner, 3. 06 Jake Rendel, 4. 69 Wes Bates, 5. 20 Cameron Hoaglin, 6. 00 Marty French, 7. 38 Steve Langdon, 8. 23 James Hadley, 9. 38r Rick Foreman, 10. 90 Fred Speck, 11. 21 Scott Newsome, 12. 29 Zack Henderson, 13. 45 Matt Bell, 14. X9 Bill Vorce
Heat Winners: Jake Rendel, Zack Henderson

Street Stocks
Feature: 1. 22 Keith Hiller, 2. 58 Glenn Heath, 3. 10b Kevin Butters, 4. 42 Sheryll Dishaw, 5. 20 Derek LaPratt, 6. 06 Bob Rendel, 7. 83 Jeremy Lutz, 8. 006 Jarrett Rendel, 9. 6x Bruce Stephens, 10. 80 Bob Dooley, 11. 18 Tom Miller, 12. 95 Joe Elliott, 13. 27 Rick Kidney, 14. 33 Brandon Hyliard, 15. 73 Pat Dent, 16. 29 Walter Otis, 17. 7r John Ruby, 18. 37b Jeff Burroughs, 19. 7k Elzie Kipp, 20. 67 Kevin Watson
Heat Winners: Bob Rendel, Derek LaPratt, Keith Hiller, Sheryll Dishaw
'B' Main: Rick Kidney

View All Past News Articles for Butler Speedway

Home Page | Racing Schedule | Directions | Rules | Photo Gallery | Results | Standings | Track History | News Archives | Sponsors | Advertising Information | Registration | Driver Information | Racing Links