News >> 2010 Schedule, Rules and Registration
Thursday, January 28, 2010 6:12:32 PM
Blonde, Beezley, Swan, Heath take checkers as Butler breaks open 2010 season
  Chad Blonde ruled the final half of Saturday's winged sprint feature as Butler (Mi.) Speedway was finally able to break open the 2010 season on Saturday. Other feature victories went to Tommy Beezley (UMP Modifieds), Eric Swan (sportsman), and Glenn Heath (street stocks).
Blonde took the win aboard a #1b, identical to the car that is campaigned by former Butler Speedway and Sprints on Dirt champion Sean Robinson. Robinson was also in competition and placed fourth.
  "Last year Sean hurt his back so I filled in for him," Blonde explained. "This week he just asked me if I wanted to drive his car a couple of times this year."
  The speedway's opener was the latest in nearly two decades, due to rains that washed out the previous two weeks of racing; the track also had a practice session wiped out by rain. Race fans and drivers alike were anxious to get the season underway, and a large crowd and full pit area were on hand.
  Gregg Dalman started on the pole for the 25-lap winged sprint feature and set sail at the outset. Dan Hall held the runner-up spot until Blonde went around the outside in turn one on lap 14. A lap later Blonde passed Dalman in the same spot and would lead the rest of the way. Dalman's mount experienced mechanical woes, and he would bring out the race's first caution. He was credited with 15th in the finishing order.
  Ken Mackey moved to second in the late stages of the race but was nearly a straightaway behind Blonde at the finish. Hall was third, with Robinson fourth and Mark Aldrich fifth. The rest of the top 10 were Doug Zimmerman, Aaron Smith, Mark Broughman, Ryan Ruhl, and Chris Jones.
  Sprint car heat race wins went to Mackey, Robinson, and Mark Broughman. Chris Jones won the 'B' Main.
  Tommy Beezley, the track's 2009 UMP Modified champion, started fourth on the grid for that division's feature. The Indiana driver used two late-race restarts to capture the win. Beezley also won the feature event a night earlier at Indiana's Gas City Speedway.
  Josh Lolmaugh led much of the feature event but dropped to ninth at the finish after a spin late in the event. Corey Bevard, a former Butler sprint car champ, has moved to the modifieds this season and finished second in his first attempt in the class. Mike Langdon finished third after repairing his racer that was heavily damaged a night earlier in a crash at Gas City. Matt Eagen, a former sportsman division champion, is also a rookie in the modifieds this season and finished fourth in his first feature race in the class at the speedway. The rest of the top 10 were Dave Sibberson, Ray Jackson, Brian Przepiora, George Krawczynski, Lolmaugh, and Jessi Sroufe.
  Modified heats were won by Beezley, Przepiora, and Bevard. Mike Langdon took the 'B' Main checker.
  Eric Swan led from start-to-finish in the sportsman feature from a starting spot outside the front row, but he had to hold off defending sportsman champion Logan Beckwith to accomplish the task. Beckwith was second, with Wes Bates third, Fred Speck fourth and Jay Davison fifth. Sixth through tenth were Marty French, Elston Flemming, Jr., Cameron Hoaglin, Dwayne Feltner, and James Hadley.
  Sportsman heat races were won by Beckwith, French, and Matt Bell.
Keith Hiller started outside of the front row and led much of the way in the street stock feature. But Heath would charge from an 11th-place starting spot to record the win. Hiller was second, followed by two-time street stock champ Jarrett Rendel, Jeff Burroughs, and Jeremy Lutz. The rest of the top 10 were Dirk LaPratt, Walter Otis, Grady Jarrell, Bob Rendel, James Brooks.
  Street stock heat races were won by Hiller, Lutz, LaPratt, and John Ruby. Heath won the 'B' Main.

Butler Speedway Results - May 15, 2010
Winged Sprints
Feature: 1. 1b Chad Blonde, 2. 25m Ken Mackey, 3. 11 Dan Hall, 4. 1 Sean Robinson, 5. 1a Mark Aldrich, 6. 19 Doug Zimmerman, 7. 38 Aaron Smith, 8. 52 Mark Broughman, 9. 27r Ryan Ruhl, 10. 23j Chris Jones, 11. 2m Steve Mackey, 12. Shelby Bilton, 13. 11 Trey Smith, 14. 31 Andy Teunessen, 15. 49t Gregg Dalman, 16. 12b Mike Baker, 17. 39j Chad Hart, 18. ? Kit Scott, 19. 44 Tom Davies
Heat Winners: Ken Mackey, Mark Broughman, Sean Robinson
B Main: Chris Jones
UMP Modifieds
Feature: 1. 69 Tommy Beezley, 2. 8 Cory Bevard, 3. 48 Mike Langdon, 4. 15 Matt Eagen, 5. Dave Sibberson, 6. 31j Ray Jackson, 7. 1 Brian Przepiora, 8. 15r George Krawzski, 9. 25 Josh Lolmaugh, 10. 14s Jessi Sroufe, 11. 95 Greg Socha, 12. 2s John Swift, 13. 25b Brian McFetters, 14. 68 Bob Littlejohn, 15. 23 John Hadley, 16. 17 Bryant Dickenson, 17. 78 Terry Stratton, 18. 98 Tim Abbeg
Heat Winners: Tommy Beezley, Brian Przepiora, Corey Bevard
B Main: Mike Langdon
Feature: 1. 0 Eric Swan, 2. 79 Logan Beckwith, 3. 69 Wes Bates, 4. 90 Fred Speck, 5. 53 Jay Davison, 6. 00 Marty French, 7. 83 Elston Flemming, Jr., 8. 20 Cameron Hoaglin, 9. 36 Dwayne Feltner, 10. 23 James Hadley, 11. 42 Larry Henderson, 12. 25b Doug Bildner, 13. 45 Matt Bell, 14. 92g Gary Gardner, 15. 13 Charles Clawson, 16. 57 Steve Billingsley, 17. 70 Tim Kulikowski, 18. 29 Zach Henderson, 19. 4 Guy Hummerding, 20. 33w David Ward, 21. 38 Steve Langdon
Heat Winners: Matt Bell, Marty French, Logan Beckwith
Street Stocks
Feature: 1. 58 Glenn Heath, 2. 22 Keith Hiller, 3. 006 Jarrett Rendel, 4. 37b Jeff Burroughs, 5. 83L Jeremy Lutz, 6. 10 Dirk LaPratt, 7. 29 Walter Otis, 8. 24 Grady Jarrell, 9. 06 Bob Rendel, 10. 81 James Brooks, 11. 42 Sheryll Dishaw, 12. 6x Bruce Stephens, 13. 18 Tom Miller, 14. 68 Darren Slone, 15. 67 Kevin Watson, 16. 5 Randy Nichols, Jr., 17. Todd Smith, 18. 7r John Ruby, 19. 86 David Collins, Jr., 20. Tommy Napier
Heat Winners: Dirk LaPratt, Jeremy Lutz, Keith Hiller, John Ruby
B Main: Glenn Heath

Some of the 2010 rides in the modified ranks!

Tommy Beezley's 2010 colors. Beezley was the 2009 Butler champ.

Corey Bevard and the new modified that he's campaigning this season.

Brian Przepiora's 2010 modified.
2010 Rules

View All Past News Articles for Butler Speedway

Home Page | Racing Schedule | Directions | Rules | Photo Gallery | Results | Standings | Track History | News Archives | Sponsors | Advertising Information | Registration | Driver Information | Racing Links